MINUTES OF THE CLASSIFIED SENATE JUNE 6, 2007

I. President Herrman called the meeting to order.

II. Roll Call:

- A. **Attending:** Becki Bohnenblust, Richard Brenner, Terri Eddy, Carolyn Elliott, Janel Harder, Richard Herrman, Connie Hobbs, Tracy Ivy, Claudie Leeds, Gary Leitnaker, Melissa Linenberger, Joe Meyers, Barbara Nagel, Jennyfer Owensby, Connie Reding, Cyreathia (SAM) Reyer, Peggy Selvidge, Darrin VanDorn, Libby Vathauer, Marlene Walker, John Wolf.
- B. **Absent:** Annette Boddy, Carol Marden, Nick Pecenka, Rob Reves, Lois Schreiner

III. Swearing in of New Officers:

A. Richard Herrman began the proceeding by swearing in Barbara Nagel as the new President. Barbara then followed by swearing in Jennyfer Owensby as the new President-Elect, Janel Harder as the new/returning Vice-President and Cyreathia (SAM) Reyer as the new Secretary. Jennyfer Owensby swore in John Wolf as the new Treasurer and Cyreathia (SAM) Reyer swore in Carolyn Elliott as the new At-Large member.

IV. Gary Leitnaker Report:

A. Gary Leitnaker reported that the Governor signed off on the new payroll plan with an effective date of June 17, 2007.

V. Minutes:

A. The minutes were reviewed. Connie Kissee moved to accept the minutes as presented, Marlene Walker seconded. Minutes were approved as presented.

VI. Budget/Treasurer's Report:

A. Jennyfer Owensby reported on the budget. Carolyn Elliott moved to accept the budget report as presented. Becki Bohnenblust seconded. Budget/Treasurer's Report was approved as presented.

VII. Executive Council Report:

- A. Barbara Nagel outlined the discussion that took place during the Executive Council Meeting. Welcomed the new senators and announced the co-chairs of the 2007-2008 Senate Committees. Campus Affairs Co-Chairs are Becki Bohnenblust and Joe Meyers; Legislative Affairs Co-Chars are Connie Kissee and Marlene Walker; Recognition Ceremony Committee Co-Chairs are Tracy Ivy and Peggy Selvidge and the Public Relations Co-Chairs are Melissa Linenberger and Lois Schreiner.
- B. Barbara Nagel outlined the University Committees that need classified representation and asked for volunteers. She will be sending out an e-mail with the listing of the Committees and what the committees are about.

C. New Senator Orientation will be held during the July meeting. Due to the 4th of July holiday, the July meeting will be held on July 11.

VII. Senate Standing Committees:

- A. Campus Affairs: did not meet
- B. **Legislative Affairs:** Connie Kissee outlined the position paper and Connie and Janel Harder outlined the details of the Kansas Council of Classified Senates meeting which will be hosted by K-State this year on June 18.
- C. **Recognition Ceremony:** Sam Reyer reported that the ceremony was a success and heard many positive comments. She expressed a big thank you to the committee for their outstanding work.

IX. Campus Committee Reports:

- A. **Parking:** the planning for the parking garage is 95% done. Once the bids are let, construction should start late summer/early fall with a completion date of November 2008. There will be shuttles from Bramlage directly to the Union running every ten minutes between 7 am and 5-6 pm.
- B. Alternative Service: Barbara Nagel explained the change in the Alternative Service Committee. It is now an individual campus committee reporting to Dr. Rawson. Barbara Nagel explained the scope and the research the committee is doing as well as the process of how the plan for alternative to civil service will be created, presented to the administration for their approval, town hall meetings to inform the classified staff and then a vote of ALL university classified staff will be taken with a majority vote required for passage of the plan.

X. Old Business:

A. Richard Herrman said that the awards from the Ceremony that were not picked up are available for senators to pick up and distribute to their areas. Sam Reyer will get a listing together of the individuals by area and work with Richard to get the awards separated and then out to the respective senators for delivery.

XI. New Business:

- A. Barbara Nagel reported that the Recognition Committee will function as a separate Senate Committee and develop a new Public Relations Committee. Connie Kissee moved to approve the changes and the new Public Relations Committee. Tracy Ivy seconded and the motion was passed to approve the above changes.
- B. Barbara Nagel passed around a committee sign-up sheet requesting that all senators serve on at least one committee.

XII. Adjournment

A. Marlene Walker moved to adjourn. Connie Kissee seconded. Motion passed, meeting adjourned.

The next meeting is scheduled for July 11, 2007 in the K-State Student Union Staterooms 1 and 2.